You can print out the Marriage Affidavit and bring it to the St. Clair County Clerk's Office.
Birth certificates and social security numbers are requred when applying for a marriage license.
There is a three-day waiting period by State law. This waiting period does not include the application day. The license is valid
anywhere in the state for thirty-three (33) days from the date of application.
Please Note: 16 and 17-year-old applicants are required to present a certified
birth certificate, and the minor must be accompanied by a custodial parent or
guardian who must sign a consent form. The custodial parent, guardian, and minor
must present picture identification.
- $25.00 -- application fee for Michigan residents
- $35.00 -- application fee for non-residents of Michigan
- Method of payments accepted: cash, check, Visa*, Mastercard*, and Discover*
- Please make checks payable to: "St. Clair County Clerk."
* Convenience fees apply to all credit card transactions.
Making Changes to an Existing License
If there was an error on a marriage license that has been filed with the St.
Clair County Clerk's Office, a petition will need to be completed and sent to a
Circuit Court judge for signature in order to correct the error. After the
petition is signed by the judge a new marriage license will be issued. There is
a $25.00 correction fee. Payment can be made to the St. Clair County Clerk’s
Office. Click here for the petition.