Metropolitan Planning Commission


The mission of the St. Clair County Metropolitan Planning Commission is to provide innovative and proactive planning services to County residents through the application of professional skills, adopted plans, and standards that foster economic prosperity, enhance the quality of life, and preserve the natural environment for current and future generations

What We Do

  • We Plan: planning, visioning, analysis, public involvement, assessment, and forecasting
  • We Facilitate: promoting coordination, collaboration, and connecting communities to resources
  • We Educate: providing training and tools for local officials and the public to effectively manage change
  • We Implement: working with partners to make things happen

About the MPC

The County Board of Commissioners has appointed eleven citizens to serve as the Metropolitan Planning Commission. Members represent various sectors or interests within the County, including local government, education, agriculture, finance, and recreation/tourism. A staff of professional planners and administrative support staff assist the Commission.

Metropolitan Planning Commission
Kevin Miller, Chairperson Education
Don Sheldon, Vice-Chair Agriculture
Bob Sheehy, Secretary Transportation/Utilities
Steve Cooper Recreation/Tourism
Dorothy DeBoyer Citizen at Large
Jorja Baldwin County Board
Dan Lockwood Finance
Dr. Geof Kusch Citizen at Large
Georgia Phelan Economic Development
John Steffy Local Government
Bob Tansky Business
David Struck, AICP, Planning Director/Deputy County Administrator
Geoff Donaldson, AICP, Senior Planner
Lindsay Wallace, Senior Planner
Kara Schrader, Associate Planner
Pete Klomparens, AICP, Associate Planner
Christina McEmber, Associate Planner
Penny Guyette, Administrative Assistant

Click Here to download the Metropolitan Planning Commission bylaws.