St. Clair County is part of the Detroit Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). The Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG) is designated to serve as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for St. Clair County. Transportation policy and funding decisions made by SCCOTS committees are forwarded to SEMCOG for further action. SCCOTS activities and programs complement and enhance those of SEMCOG.

The function of the SCCOTS Advisory Committee (SAC), in addition to taking official action as Federal Aid Committee (FAC) for St. Clair County, is to make recommendations to the MPC on each transportation issue that comes before it. SAC membership is open to all St. Clair County local units of government (e.g., cities, villages and townships), the county Board of Commissioners, the MPC, other transportation-oriented agencies such as the Blue Water Area Transportation Commission (BWATC), the St. Clair County Road Commission (SCCRC), the Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT), and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA); as well as interested civic groups. SCCOTS encourages members of the general public to participate in the meetings and activities of the SAC.

The St. Clair County Metropolitan Planning Commission (MPC) serves as SCCOTS Policy Committee, administers the SCCOTS program and decrees transportation planning policy. The St. Clair County Board of Commissioners appoints the eleven-member commission, comprised of seven commissioners still appointed by district, three commissioners appointed at-large, and one St. Clair County Commissioner.

Contact Information

Metropolitan Planning Commission
200 Grand River, Suite 202
Port Huron, MI 48060

Phone: (810) 989-6950
Fax: (810) 987-5931
We do not accept unsolicited faxes.
Email: Metro Planning

The MPC offices are open Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.